Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I was lucky enough to stay at two spots during my trip to Trivandrum, Kerala – at the gorgeous Kovalam beach and at the backwaters of Poovar.

Before heading to Kerala, I managed to read few write-ups about this place. Being a Keralite myself, I didn’t know Kovalam meant grove of coconut trees. And guess what I saw there? An endless sight of coconut trees indeed.

IMG_0205

I was here when I was a small kid and it is nothing like that now. It is a developed tourist spot, with natural beauty still kept intact. It is clean considering the amount of tourists that visit here and not to mention the localites as well.

Today a favorite spot for tourists, Kovalam was discovered around the 1930s. It’s an internationally known place for its adjacent crescent beaches. The city from Kovalam is around 16kms and the best way to commute is definitely in a cab.

Three beaches make this gorgeous Kovalam – the Lighthouse beach, Hawah beach and Samudra beach.

MAP

the three beaches of Kovalam

Lighthouse beach is the popular beach of Kovalam. The eye candy here is definitely the red and white striped lighthouse located at the southern end, called Vizhinjam Lighthouse. It is located on a Kurumkal hillock at a height of 118feet. It’s entirely built of stones and you can climb up the spiral steps to see a gorgeous view of the entire coast! Unfortunately, it was closed when I visited so I do not have a picture to show you guys! 😦

Then there is the Hawah beach which is to the north of Lighthouse beach. It is also called Eve’s beach.

Samudra is the north side of the beach. A rocky promontory separates it from the others. You will find upscale resorts like Taj and Leela here.

10700471_10153029682448646_7387969925132145124_o

Vizhinjam Lighthouse

TUBoa0t4c4Z4gbruDV-sin0uE7teNN1qDA3jgOdgq80,4VH3IMhm6qFL77vlJiAodxf4tVLmFUdiucaey6uKh8w

Vizhinjam Lighthouse

Things to do in Kovalam are plenty – like swimming, sunbathing, massages, cultural programs, cruises, surfing, fishing, and so on. For those who love to play, you can play football or volleyball at the beach.

I was very happy with my stay at Leela. The food is to die for and the management here is always ready to help. The day we arrived, a couple of us went down to the Lighthouse beach to see the lighthouse. That evening we had a football game on the hotels private beach and a quick dip in the beach before we called it a night. We had a quick dip in the pool before we got cleaned up and had a sumptuous dinner making us immobile 😛

I stayed at Leela Kovalam for a night, and man I didn’t want to go to my room. The view was to die for! When you look out to the sea, you feel like you can almost see the end of the world. The bright blue sky and the green sea merge seamlessly. And watching such a gorgeous view lying in the infinity pool is definitely an experience!

IMG_0167-1

View from Leela

IMG_0233

Leela’s private beach

IMG_0213

as the weather changed from sunny to storm(y)

IMG_0282-1

Early morning at a romantic spot!

IMG_0315

Infinity pool

I was up early in the morning and I decided to go for a walk! I cannot explain how beautiful the view was. And a lot of fishermen going about their usual routine.

IMG_0275

Fishermen everywhere!

IMG_0270

Fishermen at their best!

IMG_0207

I caught another guy fishing

IMG_0338

these rocks and the high tide didn’t stop this fisherman from getting his job done!

IMG_0344

that plastic bag is filled with fishes!

IMG_0268

the view I woke up to!

The next day we headed to Poovar. Poovar is another popular place in Trivandrum among tourists. It is almost the southern tip of the state. After Poovar, there is a village called Pozhiyoor which is where Kerala ends. Poovar was a major trading center a long back for sandalwood and spices.

I stayed at the island resorts and I must give you a heads up, it is the location that is key here. The resort was not up to my expectation. It was old and not well maintained. It was clean and just manageable, but I really do think they could do wonders with this place.  Their floating cottages are pretty decent compared to their land cottages.

tvm blog

Floating Cottages at Poovar Island Resort

Poovar is no doubt a tropical paradise. It’s capsuled with countless coconut trees, and the beautiful and well-kept beach, you can observe the fishermen fishing. One can catch a beautiful crimson sunset here. Sitting at the beach, watching the sun go down with the marvelous oceans sound and the breeze, it really soothes you down.

_DSC0387

Sunset at Poovar

_DSC0385

Sunset at Poovar

_DSC0395

just a random peek a boo shot

_DSC0401

Look what I found 🙂

The resort had arranged some activities in the evening, which I must admit was a lot of fun.  If you’re going with a crowd, this definitely brings everyone to a jolly good mood. We also managed to play a bit of cricket among the coconut trees, which was pretty hard I admit, but we had a good laugh.

The food here is pretty lame and did not have much variety. The lunch we had in the first day was pretty much the same for dinner and for lunch the next day. I was disappointed. The breakfast menu had everything, but it really wasn’t tasty. It was merely ok.

Some tips and information that helped me out:

  • It’s a tourist spot, so planning and booking ahead is the favorable. Off seasons will be more economical for those working on a budget trip. There are plenty of resorts at Kovalam and Poovar with all kinds of rates.
  • This place is mostly hot and humid. Keep a sunscreen handy throughout!
  • Minimal and comfortable clothes as opposed to layers of clothing are the best. And comfortable shoes are the best from my experience.
  • If you’ve planned, mostly an outdoor trip than an indoor, sandals hats and sunglasses are definitely a must have.
  • From the airport, Leela is around 14kms and Poovar around 30kms.
  • From the railway station, Leela is around 12kms and Poovar around 28kms.
  • I would recommend commuting in a cab, as I have found it to be faster and stress free.

Station

Airport

We checked out a little early as we had some meetings scheduled.  The quick three day weekend was a bit tiring as there was a lot of traveling, but it was an awful lot of fun, having spent time with fun people at fun places. I am all about the beach baby! 😀

