Tags

, , , ,

I have a lot of songs I relate to. I have one for motivation another for when I am low. I have a pick me up song, and even a feeling-blank song. Lol. Being an emotional roller coaster person, songs always come in handy.
But if you ask me today, the one song I listen to back and forth is Adele’s Hello.

The first time I heard this song, I took it literally. I related the song with my life when I was 20 something – happily in love, for a while and then devastated to have lost it somewhere. Being young and naïve, neither of us took the effort to make it right. Our anger and temper took us miles apart and it was too far and beyond us to look back and consider fixing things.

More I listened to this song; I found another side to it. This happened on a casual moment in front of the mirror when I was singing this song to myself. And when I read about the song in one of Adele’s interview, I was not wrong to think that way.

Hello, it’s me | I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to meet |To go over everything
It really felt like I was asking myself how I’ve been. Did I chase all my dreams after all, or settle down?

Hello, can you hear me? | I’m in California dreaming about who we used to be | When we were younger and free | I’ve forgotten how it felt before the world fell at our feet | There’s such a difference between us | And a million miles
The younger me loved to dream and hoped that my older self would chase those dreams down. My mind was free and there were no strings holding me back. Free to dream and free to turn it into reality.
There’s so much difference from what I am today and what I was back then.

Hello from the other side | I must have called a thousand times | To tell you I’m sorry for everything that I’ve done | But when I call you never seem to be home | Hello from the outside | At least I can say that I’ve tried | To tell you I’m sorry for breaking your heart | But it don’t matter. It clearly doesn’t tear you apart anymore.
It may seem that things were lost on the way. But today, there are neither tears nor regrets. I find a new self, the grown up self. This song gave me a chance to reconnect with myself and embrace the woman I have become. And it doesn’t tear me apart anymore.

First time I listened to this song, I couldn’t help wonder who calls landlines anymore. Gone are those days when you miss someone’s call. But then when you think about it metaphorically, well, it makes sense.

And it’s no secret that the both of us | Are running out of time
As I get older, time is running out – to take risks or be carefree. Take decisions aren’t as easy as it used to be.

In response to the Daily Prompt, This Is Your Song

